Environmental Protection, Department of

Agency Website

Statutory Authority

Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 22a-2

Agency History 

1971, Public Act 71-872

Established to consolidate the natural resources components of the newly eliminated Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources, including:

Park and Forest Commission
Commission on Forests and Wildlife

State Board of Fisheries and Game
Water Resources Commission
Boating Safety Commission
Shell-Fish Commission
State Geological and Natural History Survey Commission
Clean Air Commission
Waste Program from State Department of Health

2011, Public Act 11-80,

Eliminated, all functions transferred to the new Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

Published Histories/Articles

Not available

Archived Environmental Protection website as harvested on by the Connecticut State Library, Connecticut Digital Archive.

Agency Documents

Check the State Library catalog for availability of publications by the agency:

Connecticut. Dept. of Environmental Protection.

Annual Reports are located in:

Digest of Administrative Reports to the Governor [CSL Call Number ConnDoc F40 d]
2002-, online version

State Archives Record Groups: RG 079:001, RG 079:005, RG 079:016, RG 079:018, RG 079:026

List of Commissioners


Years of Service

 Dan W. Lufkin October 1, 1971-July 1, 1973
 Douglas M. Costle July 1, 1973-1974
 Joseph N. Gill 1974-1976
 Stanley J. Pac 1976-1986
 Leslie Carothers 1986-1990
 Timothy R.E. Keeney 1990-1994
 Sidney J. Holbrook 1994-1997
 Arthur J. Rocque, Jr. 1997-2004
 Regina McCarthy December 10, 2004-August 2009
Amey W. Marrella September 2009-2011
Daniel C. Esty 2011

Content referring here