Consumer Counsel, Office of

Agency Website

Statutory Authority

Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 16-2a

Agency History

1975, Public Act 75-486

Office of Consumer Counsel established

1979, January 1, Public Act 71-614

Made the Office of Consumer Counsel a division in the newly created Department of Business Regulation, called the Division of Consumer Counsel

1980, Public Act 80-482

Department of Business Regulation is eliminated; Office of Consumer Counsel is reestablished as an independent agency within the Department of Public Utility Control for administrative purposes only

2011, Public Act 11-80

Office transferred to the new Department of Energy and Environmental Protection for administrative purposes only

Published Histories/Articles

Not available

Archived Consumer Counsel website as harvested by the Connecticut State Library, Connecticut Digital Archives.

Agency Documents

Check the State Library catalog for availability of publications by the agency:

Connecticut. Office of Consumer Counsel.

Annual Reports are located in:

Digest of Administrative Reports to the Governor [CSL Call Number ConnDoc F40 d]
2002-, online version

State Archives Record Group: Not available

List of Heads


Years of Service

Consumer Counsel

David Silverstone 1975-1977
Barry S. Zitser 1978-1985
James F. Meehan 1986-1989
Eugene M. Koss 1990-1991
John F. Merchant 1992-1996
Guy R. Mazza 1997-2001
Mary J. Healey 2001-2011
Elin Swanson Katz 2012-present