Economic and Community Development, Department of

Agency Website

Statutory Authority

Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 8-37r

Agency History

1937, July 1, Chapter 353 (Public Acts)

Publicity Commission established

1939, July 1, Chapter 199 (Public Acts)

Publicity Commission eliminated, all functions transferred to Connecticut Development Commission

1973, October 1, Public Act 73-599

Replaced by Department of Commerce

1979, Public Act 77-614

Department of Commerce replaced by Department of Economic Development

1995, October 1, Public Act 95-250

Department of Economic and Community Development established to consolidate the Department of Economic Development and the Department of Housing

2011, July 1, Public Act 11-48

All functions transferred from Connecticut Commission on Culture and Tourism; grant programs transferred from Office of Workforce Competitiveness

Published Histories/Articles

Not available

Archived Economic and Community Development website as harvested by the Connecticut State Library, Connecticut Digital Archive

Agency Documents

Check the State Library catalog for availability of publications by the agency:

1939-1972 Connecticut. Development Commission
1973-1978 Connecticut. Dept. of Commerce
1979-1994 Connecticut. Dept. of Economic Development
1995- Connecticut. Dept. of Economic and Community Development

Annual Reports are located in:

1937-1939, [CSL Call Number ConnDoc P967r]
1939-1950, [CSL Call Number ConnDoc D49 r]
1997- [CSL Call Number ConnDoc Ec55 anre]

1947-2001, Digest of Administrative Reports to the Governor, [CSL Call Number ConnDoc F40 d]
2002-, online version          

 Also, the agency website

State Archives Record Group: RG 022

List of Commissioners

Name Years of Service
Charles E. Rolfe 1939-1940
Willard B. Rogers 1940-1947
Francis S. Murphy 1948-1949
Sidney A. Edwards 1949-Jan. 1, 1961
LeRoy Jones 1961-1967
Horace Brown 1967-Nov. 1968
Mark Fleming Nov. 1968-1973
Richard M. Stewart 1973-1974
Edward J. Stockton 1974-1981
John J. Carson 1981-1988
Stephen B. Heintz 1988-1990
Joseph J. McGee 1990-1994
Peter N. Ellef 1994-1997
James F. Abromaitis Sept. 26, 1997-2007
Ronald F. Angelo, Jr. (Acting) March 1-May 2007
Joan McDonald May 9, 2007-2011
Catherine Smith 2011-present