Education, State Department of

Agency Website

Statutory Authority

Connecticut General Statues Sec. 10-3a

Agency History

1838, Chapter LII (Public Acts)

Board of Commissioners of Common Schools established

1845, Chapter XLVI (Public Acts)

Board replaced by Superintendent of Common Schools

1865, Chapter CXV (Public Acts)

Superintendent replaced by the Board of Education; a Department of Education becomes the executive arm of the Board, applying all powers and administering all policies of the Board

1965, July 1, Public Act 65-330

Responsibilities of the Board dealing with higher education and the state colleges are transferred to the new Commission on Higher Education

2011, July 1, Public Act 11-48

Department of Education absorbs licensing and accreditation responsibilities from the Department of Higher Education

Published Histories/Articles

Armstead, George. The State Services of Connecticut. Published under the direction of the Committee on Public Information and the House Committee on Publications of the General Assembly of the State of Connecticut, 1946. pp. 234-240. [CSL Call Number ConnDoc G25 ar]

Archived State Department of Education website as harvested by the Connecticut State Library, Connecticut Digital Archive

Agency Documents

Check the State Library catalog for availability of publications by the agency:

Annual Reports are located in:

[CSL Call Number ConnDoc Ed83]

Digest of Administrative Reports to the Governor [CSL Call Number ConnDoc F40]
2002-, online version

State Archives Record Group: RG 10

List of Heads



Years of Service


Henry Barnard 1838-1842


Seth P. Beers 1845-1849
Henry Barnard 1849-1855
John D. Philbrick 1855-1856
David N. Camp 1856-1865


Daniel C. Gilman 1865-1867
Birdsey G. Northrop 1867-Dec. 31, 1882
Charles D. Hine 1883-Jan. 1920


Charles D. Hine January-June 30, 1920
Albert B. Meredith July 1, 1920-1930
Ernest W. Butterfield 1930-1938
Alonzo G. Grace 1938-1948
Finis E. Engleman 1948-1956
William J. Sanders 1956-1973
Mark R. Shedd 1973-Jan. 5, 1983
Joseph R. Galotti (Acting) Jan. 5, 1983-July 1, 1983
Gerald N. Tirozzi 1983-1991
Marilyn A. Campbell (Acting) Oct. 1, 1991-1992
Vincent L. Ferrandino June 8, 1992-1994
Theodore S. Sergi (Acting) 1994-1995
Theodore S. Sergi 1995-2003
Mark A. Stapleton (Acting) Sept. 19-Nov. 6, 2003
Betty J. Sternberg 2003-2006
George A. Coleman, Interim Commissioner 2006-2007
Mark K. McQuillan Apr. 16, 2007-2011
George A. Coleman (Acting) Jan. 2011-Feb. 2012
Stefan Pryor 2012-2015
Dianna R. Wentzell 2015-present