Insurance Department

Agency Website

Statutory Authority

Connecticut General Statutes Title 38a

Agency History

1865, Chapter XCL (Public Acts)

Office of Insurance Commissioner established

1871, Chapter CXXXCIII (Public Acts)

Insurance Department established

1979, Public Act 77-614

Insurance Department becomes the Insurance Division in the new Department of Business Regulation

1980, Public Act 80-482

Insurance Department reestablished when Department of Business Regulation is eliminated

Published Histories/Articles

Not available

Archived Insurance Department website as harvested by the Connecticut State Library, Connecticut Digital Archives.

Agency Documents

Check the State Library catalog for availability of publications by the agency:

Connecticut. Insurance Dept.

Annual Reports are located in:

1865-, [CSL Call Number ConnDoc In72]

Digest of Administrative Reports to the Governor [CSL Call Number ConnDoc F40 d]
2002-, online version

State Archives Record Group: RG 011

List of Commissioners


Years of Service

Benjamin Noyes 1867-1871
George S. Miller 1872-1874
John W. Stedman 1875-1880
John W. Brooks 1881-1883
E. Williams 1884-1886
Orsamus R. Fyler 1887-1893
Burton Mansfield 1894-1895
Frederick A. Betts 1896-1899
Edwin L. Scofield 1900-1902
Theron Upson 1903-1907
Theodore H. Macdonald 1908-1911
Burton Mansfield 1912-1923
Howard P. Dunham 1924-1935
John C. Blackall 1936-1942
W. Ellery Allyn 1943-1954
Thomas J. Spellacy 1954-1957
Alfred N. Premo 1957-1963
William R. Cotter 1963-1970
Paul B. Altermatt 1971-1973
Thomas C. White 1974
Jay W. Jackson 1975-1976
T.F. Gilroy Daly 1977
Joseph C. Mike May 20, 1977-1981
Peter W. Gillies 1983-1987
Robert F. Kelly 1988-1989
Robert R. Googins 1990-1993
William J. Gilligan (Acting) 1993-1994
George M. Reider, Jr. 1994-1999
Susan F. Cogswell 1999-2007
Thomas R. Sullivan Apr. 18, 2007-Nov. 2010
Barbara C. Spear (Interim) Nov. 2010-2011
Thomas B. Leonardi 2011-2014