Mansfield State Training School and Hospital

Agency Website

Not available

Statutory Authority

Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 17-156 (1958 Revision)

Agency History


Connecticut School for Imbeciles at Lakeville is established.

1915, Chapter 336 (Public Acts)

Name changed to Connecticut Training School for Feebleminded at Lakeville

1917, Chapter 417 (Public Acts)

Merged with the Connecticut Colony for Epileptics at Mansfield and renamed the Mansfield Training School and Hospital

1959, Public Act 59-148

Training School and Hospital transferred to the new Office of Mental Retardation in the Department of Health for administrative purposes

1975, Public Act 75-638

Training School and Hospital transferred to the new Department of Mental Retardation for administrative purposes

1993, Public Act 91-278

Mansfield Training School closes

Published Histories/Articles

Armstead, George B. The State Services of Connecticut. Published under the direction of the Committee on Public Information and the House Committee on Publications of the General Assembly of the State of Connecticut, 1946. pp. 179-186 [CSL Call Number ConnDoc G25 ar]

Agency Documents

Check the State Library catalog for availability of publications by the agency:

Annual/Biennial Reports are located in:

1860-1914, School for Imbeciles [CSL Call Number ConnDoc F33]
1914-1916, Training School for Feebleminded [CSL Call Number ConnDoc F33]
1917-1975, Mansfield State Training School [CSL Call Number ConnDoc M317]
All Years,  Digest of Administrative Reports to the Governor [CSL Call Number ConnDoc F40 d]

State Archives Record Group: RG 170:001

List of Superintendents

School for Imbeciles, later Training School for Feebleminded:
Name Years of Service Notes

M. Knight


Memorials in 1878-1879 Annual Report

Robert P. Knight



George H. Knight


Obituary and memorials in 1910-12 Biennial Report

Charles T. LaMoure



Mansfield State Training School and Hospital :


Years of Service

Charles T. LaMoure

1917-June 30, 1941

Lester E. Shippee

July 1, 1941-Sept. 30, 1941

Neil A. Dayton

Oct. 1, 1941-1962

Francis P. Kelley


Roger D. MacNamara


George V. Moore


Patricia Staszko-Kozik


John Parson


Thomas J. Sullivan