Pardons, Board of

Agency Website

Not available

Statutory Authority

Connecticut General Statutes Chapter 135

Agency History

1883, April 26, Chapter 108 (Public Acts)

Board established

2004, July 1, Public Act 04-234

Replaced by Connecticut Board of Pardons and Paroles

Published Histories/Articles

Reinhart, Christopher. Pardons Power in Connecticut. Hartford, CT : Connecticut General Assembly, Office of Legislative Research, 2001.  OLR Research Report 2001-R-0498.
Reinhart, Christopher. Pardons. Hartford, CT : Connecticut General Assembly, Office of Legislative Research, 2004.  OLR Research Report 2004-R-0877. 

Agency Documents

Check the State Library catalog for availability of publications by the agency:

Connecticut.  Board of Pardons.

Reports are located in:

1947-1957, Digest of Administrative Reports to the Governor. [CSL Call Number ConnDoc F40 d]

State Archives Record Group: RG 025

List of Heads


Years of Service

Chief Justice  
Charles B. Andrews 1901
David Torrance 1902-1906
Simeon E. Baldwin 1907-0909
Frederic B. Hall 1910-1912
Samuel O. Prentice 1913-1916
Alberto T. Roraback 1917-1919
William S. Case 1920
Vacancy 1921
Howard J. Curtis 1922-1931
Frank D. Haines 1932-1934
Justice of the Supreme Court  
Frank D. Haines 1935
Allyn L. Brown 1936-1946
Newell Jennings 1947-1951
Ernest Inglis 1952-1953
Edward J. Daly 1954-1956
John H. King 1957-1958
Bernard H. Trager 1959-1972
Barry R. Schaller 1973
Roland A. Mariani 1974
Paul J. McQuillan 1978-1982
Phillip E. Tatoian, Jr. 1984-1988
Howard G. Iger 1992-1999
Edward M. Day 1900-1911
Harry W. Reynolds 1912-1927
Vine R. Parmalee 1928-1940, 1948-1958
Vine R. Parmalee (Acting) 1959
Isadore L. Kotler 1960-1970
Lawrence B. Schwartz 1971-1977
Burton S. Yaffie 1978-2004