Public Utility Control, Department of

Agency Website

Statutory Authority

Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 16-2

Agency History

1854, Chapter LXXIV (Public Acts)

Rail Road Commissioners established

1855, Chapter XCIV (Public Acts)

General Railroad Commissioners established

1875 Annual Report

Now referred to as the Board of Railroad Commissioners

1911, Chapter 128 (Public Acts)

Public Utilities Commission established to succeed the Board of Railroad Commissioners

1975, December 1, Public Act 75-486

Created the Public Utilities Control Authority from the former Public Utilities Commission

1979, January 1, Public Act 71-614

Placed the former Public Utilities Control Authority a in the newly created Department of Business Regulation; renamed the Division of Public Utility Control

1980, July 1, Public Act 80-482

Eliminated the Department of Business Regulation; Division of Public Utility Control became an independent department called the Department of Public Utility Control

2011, July 1, Public Act 11-80

Eliminated; all functions moved to the new Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

Published Histories/Articles 

History of the agency at the Department of Public Utility Control website 

Archived Department of Public Utility Control website as harvested by the Connecticut State Library, Connecticut Digital Archive

Agency Documents

Check the State Library catalog for availability of publications by the agency:

Annual Reports are located in:

[CSL Call Number ConnDoc P962r]

Public Documents of the State of Connecticut. [CSL Call Number ConnDoc G25m]

Digest of Administrative Reports to the Governor. [CSL Call Number ConnDoc F40 d]
2002-, online version

State Archives Record Groups: RG 041,  RG 089 (Dept. of Transportation)

List of Heads

For Commission members prior to 1911, please see the Register & Manual.


Years of Service



Richard Thomas Higgins 1911-Sept. 16, 1934
Edwy Lycurgus Taylor 1934-1935
Joseph Wright Alsop 1936
Alvan Waldo Hyde 1937
Edwy Lycurgus Taylor 1938
Joseph Wright Alsop 1939-1941
Joseph Patrick O'Connell 1942
Clyde Olin Fisher 1943
Joseph Patrick O'Connell 1944
Eugene Stanislaus Loughlin 1945-1970
Howard Edward Hausman 1971-1975
Albert J. Kleban 1975-1978
Miriam B. Butterworth 1979
John T. Downey 1979-1980
Thomas H. Fitzpatrick 1980-1983
John T. Downey 1983-1987
Peter G. Boucher 1987-1991
Michael J. Kenney 1991
Clifton A. Leonhardt 1991-1992
Reginald J. Smith 1992-1996
Donald W. Downes 1996-2009
Kevin M. DelGobbo 2009-2011
Executive Director  
King Quillen 1983-1988
Christopher S. Wood 1988-1990
Darcy McGraw 1992-1993
Deborah K. Flannagan 1994-1996
Paul Corey 1997-2000
William J. Palomba 2001-2011